Fixing Asus no-boot when usb devices plugged in


Yeah, so I have an Asus Rampage Formula x48 in my custom rig.

A  little while after building it I noticed that it would freeze while booting (off the bios) whenever any USB devices aside from a mouse/keyboard were plugged in.

I’ve seen this described on a few forum posts:

  1. http://forums.techguy.org/hardware/705085-asus-p5k-e-lga-775-a.html
  2. http://webcache.googleusercontent.com/search?q=cache:ZkSmkJrRXA8J:www.overclock.net/intel-motherboards/389435-yet-another-problem-my-rampage-formula.html+http://www.overclock.net/intel-motherboards/389435-yet-another-problem-my-rampage-formula.html&cd=1&hl=en&ct=clnk&gl=us&client=firefox-a
  3. http://www.sysopt.com/forum/showthread.php?t=200239

So it seems to be a common Asus problem and not just to the Rampage Formulas.  One answer I saw was to disable Legacy USB Support in the BIOS, another said this only happens with the USB ports by the ethernet port, but these did not do the trick for me.

After calling tech support (they told me to flash the BIOS and I said “uh, no”) I tried some combinations of things.  This is what worked for me in the end:

  1. Disable Legacy USB Support
  2. Disable Port 64/60 Emulation
  3. Disable EHCI Hand-off (all in USB Configuration)
  4. Set Plug and Play O/S to *YES* (in PCI PnP menu)

If you are using anything but an ancient operating system (older than XP, and if you’re doing that, you are both a moron and don’t have this motherboard), you should use these settings anyway.  For some reason, Asus assumes everyone is running OS/2 Warp or something, so everything is messed up in the default settings.

Nice job, guys (wtf) !

2 Responses

Leave a Reply

