How to add an LPR printer in Windows Server 2008


Wow, this makes no sense at all.  There are two (perhaps more) methods to add a printer in WS2008, but only one of them allow you to add an LPR port (as far as I could tell).  At any rate, to save everyone the same 3 hour headache I had with getting an LPR printer functionng in WS2008, check this out.

First of all, in order to enable LPR in WS2008, follow these instructions:

1. How *not* to do it:

Do not go through the printer section in the control panel.

Because then you find this, which doesn’t allow for LPR (why why why!):

So when I got to here, I was pretty sure that I just didn’t set up LPR on my machine – I mean, its not showing up here, so clearly its not available.

Well, that was wrong.  Turns out for some insane reason, you can add an LPR printer through the Server Manager, as opposed to the control panel.  It only took me three hours of poking through menus to find this out.

2. How to do it.


So there you have it – I have no idea why the system is designed like this – it makes no sense to me (unless I’m missing something), but that’s how you gotta jump through hoops to get it going.

6 Responses

  1. Much thanks. Your FAQ was both awesome and useful. Hurray for LPR.

  2. Thank you for helping on how to map a printer to LPT in Serrver 2008.

  3. Thanks!

  4. thx very much!

  5. THANKS A LOT

Leave a Reply

